row of businesses 

Secondhand Smoke Regulations & Responsibilities

Our state and local communities have worked together to pass comprehensive smoking ordinances. In 2006, the Colorado Clean Indoor Act (CCIAA) was passed, making most indoor places in Colorado smoke-free. The law intends to protect all Coloradans by reducing their exposure to secondhand smoke. There is no safe level of exposure to secondhand smoke.

Report a Complaint or Concern about Secondhand Smoke

Most Public Places Are Smoke-Free

Under the Colorado Clean Indoor Air Act (CCIAA), nearly all indoor places are smoke-free, including restaurants, bars, libraries, theaters, common areas, and many other community locations. A building’s main entryway must also be smoke-free, and smoking should not take place within 15 feet of that entryway.

Exemptions

Private homes, cigar bars, tobacco retailers, limos under private hire, and a certain number of hotel or motel rooms are among the few exceptions to the law.

Local Regulations

Boulder County municipalities may have enacted stricter regulations regarding smoking, so be sure to check your municipal code. Property owners and managers are also allowed to implement stricter code under the CCIAA. Many places have already begun to implement more comprehensive smoke-free policies on their properties.

Review Your Local Municipal Code for Your City's Smoking Policy

Tips to Meet Clean Indoor Air Requirements

Whether you are a business owner or a Boulder County resident, here are a few tips to make sure that the requirements of the Colorado Clean Indoor Air Act are being met:

  • If you are a business or a workplace open to the public, make sure your employees, visitors, and the general public know about the Colorado Clean Indoor Air Act.
  • Post no-smoking signs at all building or facility entrances.
  • Remove all ashtrays and other cigarette disposal containers from the main entryway.
  • Do not smoke or allow smoking within 15 to 25 feet of a building entrance.
  • Learn more about The Colorado Clean Indoor Act.

Report a Complaint or Concern about Secondhand Smoke

Whether you notice a violation, want to file a complaint, or have a question about smoke intrusion, the Tobacco Education & Prevention Partnership can help. By working together, we can make sure that our communities continue to have an opportunity for a healthier life.

 Related Links


Contacts

Tobacco Education & Prevention Program (TEPP)

303-413-7567
Submit a question

www.BoulderCountyTobacco.org

Boulder

3482 Broadway
Map & Directions
Hours: 8 a.m.-4:30 p.m. M-F

Follow