Sales & Use Tax

Sales Tax

Boulder County Sales and Use Tax is 0.985% for 2017

  • Boulder County 0.985%
  • State of Colorado 2.9%
  • RTD 1.0%
  • Scientific Cultural District 0.1%
  • Total 4.985%

NOTE: County taxes are collected by the State of Colorado. All payments of County tax should be reported and remitted directly to the Colorado Department of Revenue on its form. There is a specific column on the form for County Sales Tax. Forms are available on the State of Colorado web site, or contact the Colorado Sales Tax Office at 303-238-7378 for handouts on rates charged in other Colorado localities.

Use Tax

Boulder County imposes Use Tax in only two circumstances:

  1. Storing, using or consuming in Boulder County any motor or other vehicle, purchased at retail on which a registration is required. (This tax is collected when the vehicle is registered in Boulder County at the County Clerk’s Office).
  2. Building & construction materials purchased at retail. (This tax is collected when a building permit is obtained. Building permits for areas in unincorporated Boulder County, Jamestown, and Ward are obtained at the County’s Building Department at 2045 13th St. By intergovernmental agreements, the tax is also collected by the city building departments in Boulder, Longmont, Louisville, Lafayette, Lyons, Erie, Superior, and Nederland.)

Brochure & Exemption

More Tax Information

 Related Links


Sales and Use Tax


Sales and Use Tax