wheat fields 

Land Conservation Awards

Each spring during Volunteer Week, Boulder County honors individuals or groups with its Land Conservation Awards for outstanding contributions made to the conservation, preservation and protection of land-based environmental resources. Nominations are accepted until the end of January each year.

Award categories include Land Conservation, Environmental Stewardship, and the Heritage Award for Excellence in Historic Preservation. Outstanding volunteers and an outstanding Alpine-level Partner nominated by open space staff are also honored at the ceremony.

 2014 LCA Event

2014 Land Conservation Awards

The Boulder County Commissioners and Parks and Open Space staff will present the annual Land Conservation Awards on April 9.

Land Conservation Awards
Tuesday, April 9, 3-4 p.m.
5201 St. Vrain Road, Longmont
Map & Directions

Land Conservation Award

Rich Koopmann

For outstanding achievement in land preservation and stewardship during 35 years as a land planner, staff mentor, and persistent champion of Boulder County's open space program, preserving the unique qualities and functions of rural land along with the county's rich natural and cultural heritage.

Environmental Stewardship Award

Dave Hallock

For outstanding achievement in environmental stewardship exemplified by his essential and pivotal role in the update of the Environmental Resource Element (ERE) of the Boulder County Comprehensive Plan.

Historic Preservation

Lexie Spencer Armitage

For her commitment to historic preservation through her vision of saving the historic Cardinal town site and her decade-long perseverance to rehabilitating its collection of mining related buildings for a viable current use.

Partnership Award

Level 3 Communications

For outstanding achievement as an Alpine Partner in the Partnership Initiative Program through the consistent participation in volunteer projects at Heil Valley Ranch and other open space properties. Their willingness to organize several projects with adept and hardworking volunteers after last year's flood event was an immense benefit to POS and the county overall.

Outstanding Volunteer

Art Roberts

For outstanding contributions as an active Park Patroller (now Citizen Ranger) for Boulder County Parks and Open Space since 2004. Art took the initiative to be out on the trails nearly every single week patrolling and talking to visitors. In 2013 alone, he contributed a total of 91 hours of patrol when the requirement for this position is only 24 hours.

DeAnna Cassidy

For outstanding contributions to the 4-H program for over 18 years. During that time, DeAnna has been a valued volunteer to the Fairview Crops and Livestock Club, providing support and leadership for club fundraisers, projects, meetings, and activities. And even after that much time, on the eve of her 17th year, she decided to jump in full throttle by starting the Cloverbud club!

 ‭(Hidden)‬ Nomination Guidelines


Anyone may nominate individuals, families or organizations that have made outstanding contributions in Boulder County in Land Conservation, Environmental Stewardship or Historic Preservation until January 31 of each year.

Special consideration will be given to land conservation or historic preservation activities that particularly affect unincorporated Boulder County and for activities that demonstrate ongoing effort. One-time efforts resulting in lasting benefits to the county's environmental landscape will also be favored for selection. Other award selection criteria include conservation activities that are a model for others or that increase public awareness of land conservation.
Nomination Criteria

People may not nominate themselves nor are they permitted to nominate organizations of which they are an officer or director. Official projects of federal, state, county, special district and municipal government agencies are not eligible to be nominated. The project or transfer of land must have been completed within the last five years.

Nomination Forms

Nominations are due by January 31, 2014.

Option 1:
Use the form to submit a nomination

Submit A Nomination

Option 2:
Or download the nomination form and return to Vivienne Jannatpour.

Award Ceremony

The Boulder County commissioners present the awards during Volunteer Week in April at the Parks and Open Space headquarters in Longmont.

 Past Winners


  • Keith Bateman, Land Conservation Award
  • George and Marti Oetzel, Environmental Stewardship
  • The Little Church in the Pines Board, Heritage Award for Excellence in Historic Preservation
  • Megan Bowes, Outstanding Volunteer
  • Joyce Costello, Outstanding Volunteer
  • Geocaching Colorado, Partnership Award


  • Jan Burns, Land Conservation Award
  • Steve Jones, Environmental Stewardship
  • Skip and Marva DeFalco, Heritage Award for Excellence in Historic Preservation
  • David Davia, Outstanding Volunteer
  • Kathie Kennedy, Outstanding Volunteer
  • Barb Kirchner, Outstanding Volunteer
  • Alan Carpenter, Outstanding Volunteer
  • Amgen, Partnership Award


  • Ruth Almquist, Land Conservation Award
  • Wildland Restoration Volunteers, Environmental Stewardship
  • Scott Bruntjen & Carol Rinderknecht, Heritage Award for Excellence in Historic Preservation
  • Jenn Archuleta, Outstanding Volunteer
  • Clare Shier, Outstanding Volunteer
  • Smartwool, Partnership Award


  • Luke Stromquist, Land Conservation Award
  • Boulder Flycasters, Environmental Stewardship Award
  • Left Hand Grange, Heritage Award for Excellence in Historic Preservation
  • Katherine Young, Outstanding Volunteer
  • Dianne Marshall, Outstanding Volunteer
  • Boulder Mountainbike Alliance, Partnership Award


  • Craig Sterkel, Land Conservation Award
  • Ben Turner, Environmental Stewardship Award
  • June Peterson Howard, Heritage Award for Excellence in Historic Preservation
  • Tina Pohlmann, Outstanding Volunteer
  • Diane Karash, Outstanding Volunteer
  • Boulder Mountainbike Alliance, Partnership Award


  • Van Thuyne Family, Land Conservation Award
  • Sigrid Ueblacker, Environmental Stewardship Award
  • Alan Villavicencio, Heritage Award for Excellence in Historic Preservation
  • Ann Cooper, Outstanding Volunteer
  • Clarence Kneebone, Outstanding Volunteer


  • Robinson/Moore Family, Land Conservation Award
  • Dr. Oakleigh Thorne, II, Environmental Stewardship Award
  • Merrie and Jeff Wycoff, Heritage Award for Excellence in Historic Preservation
  • Anne Q. Dyni, Outstanding Volunteer
  • Sharon Bokan, Outstanding Volunteer


  • LaVerne Krueger, Land Conservation Award
  • Cal-Wood Education Center, Environmental Stewardship Award
  • John Mayhoffer, Heritage Award for Excellence in Historic Preservation
  • Jim McKee, Outstanding Volunteer
  • Christina Kertesz, Outstanding Volunteer

2003 Land Conservation Award

  • Sandy Cruz

2002 Land Conservation Award

  • Jim Crain

2000 Land Conservation Award

  • Marcel Arsenault

1999 Land Conservation Award

  • Audrey and Jim Benedict
  • Anne and Henry Goodnow

1998 Land Conservation Award

  • Katharine Welch

1997 Land Conservation Award

  • Lillian C. Trevarton
  • Boulder County Nature Association

1996 Land Conservation Award

  • Dorothy Ellen Trevarton
  • James L. Henry

1995 Land Conservation Award

  • Martin and Natali Steinberg

1994 Land Conservation Award

  • Ruth Wright

1993 Land Conservation Award

  • Stuart S. Anderson
  • Lee S. and Virginial H. Evans
  • LeRoy Schlagel

1992 Land Conservation Award

  • Martha (Ricky) Weiser
  • Clancy C. Waneka
  • Arthur R. Stromquist (awarded posthumously)
  • Alva M. Dodd, Sr. (awarded posthumously)


Parks & Open Space
Vivienne Jannatpour