SCFD Cultural Council

Due to COVID-19, the Community Planning & Permitting Department is conducting business and providing services virtually. Our physical office in Boulder is currently CLOSED to the public.

Boulder County Cultural Council (BCCC)

Develops recommendations to Boulder County Commissioners regarding the yearly distribution plan for the county’s portion of the Metropolitan Scientific and Cultural Facilities District (SCFD) Tier III sales tax.

Please note, due to COVID-19, most in-person meetings have been canceled. This year, instead of council interviews, all organizations will receive questions with a chance to respond by email.

BCCC – April/May 2021 Meetings

All meetings will be held from 6-9 p.m. MT, EXCEPT as noted below:

  • Study Session 1, Tuesday April 6,
  • Study Session 2, Tuesday April 20
  • Study Session 3, Tuesday May 4
  • Allocation Meeting, Tuesday May 25 — will begin at 5 p.m.

The public is invited to observe but not speak. Follow this link for the Zoom meeting information:
https://scfd.org/grantmaking/grant-schedule-calendar/

Grant applications are divided into three groups. For information about an organization’s scheduled study session, follow this link:
https://scfd.org/grantmaking/funded-organizations/tier-iii/ (then click on “2021 OBSERVATIONAL STUDY SESSION SCHEDULE”).

Boulder County Cultural Council 2021 Calendar

2021 Regular Monthly BCCC Meetings

  • Tuesday, Jan. 5 (6-8 p.m.)
  • Tuesday, Feb. 2 (6-8 p.m.)
  • Tuesday, March 2 (6-8 p.m.)
  • April and May are Allocation Meetings (see above)
  • No regular BCCC meeting is scheduled for June
  • No regular BCCC meeting is scheduled for July
  • Tuesday, Aug. 3 (5-9 p.m.) Retreat
  • Tuesday, Sept. 7 (6-8 p.m.)
  • Tuesday, Oct. 5 (6-8 p.m.) — Agenda items: Review and approve 2022 Calendar, Guidelines and Rubric
  • Tuesday, Nov. 2 (6-8 p.m.)
  • No regular BCCC meeting is scheduled for December

Other Deadlines and Meetings

Grant Deadlines

  • Feb 12 (Fri.), 4 p.m. – Final Grant Report Deadline
  • March 2 (Tues), 4 p.m. – Multi-county Grant Deadline
  • March 16 (Tues), 4 p.m. – Boulder County Grant Deadline

BCCC Study Sessions for SCFD Grant Funding Applicants:

  • April 6 (Tues.) 6-9 p.m. Boulder
  • April 20 (Tues.) 6-9 p.m. Boulder
  • April 22 (Thurs.) – SCFD Board Approves Tier III Distribution Budget
  • May 4 (Tues.) 6-9 p.m. Boulder
  • May 18 (Tues.) 6-9 p.m. (If Needed) Boulder

BCCC/SCFD Grant Allocation Meeting:

  • May 25 (Tues.) 5-9 p.m.

Finalized Funding Plans, Commissioner’s Resolution, and Recognition Ceremony/Event plans due to SCFD

  • Aug. 13 (Fri.)

SCFD Board Meeting to approve Tier III funding and presentations by each council chair

  • Sept. 23 (Thurs.), 1 p.m.
  • Oct. ? (Tues.) Boulder County Cultural Council Check Ceremony — TBD
  • Oct. 16 (Fri.) – 2022 G
  • Guidelines and Calendars due to SCFD

Written comments for any meeting can be emailed to Carol Garnand (click on name to open an email message).

Council Members (Appointed by the Board of County Commissioners)

  • Aleta Sherman, Chair
  • Maria Astudillo, Vice Chair
  • Jackie Hobbins, Secretary
  • Zachary Barr
  • Mark Bresnan
  • Sam Fuqua
  • J De La Vaca
  • Larry Kaptein

Boulder County Cultural Council - 2020 General Operating Support Funded Organizations

SCFD Liaison

Kendal Zimmerman, SCFD Liaison

Staff Liaison

303-441-3500

Bylaws

Boulder County Cultural Council Bylaws

Grant Application Information

Lhttps://assets.bouldercounty.org/wp-content/uploads/2021/02/2021-BCearn More

SCFD Tier III – Metro Denver Link