SCFD Cultural Council

Boulder County Cultural Council (BCCC)

Develops recommendations to Boulder County Commissioners regarding the yearly distribution plan for the county’s portion of the Metropolitan Scientific and Cultural Facilities District (SCFD) sales tax.

Boulder County Tier III SCFD (aka Boulder County Cultural Council, or BCCC) meetings are typically held on the second Tuesday of the month from 6 – 8 p.m. Grant interview and allocation meetings are held weekly from April through May/early June. All meetings are open to the public.

Downtown County Courthouse
Third Floor – Hullinghorst Room
1325 Pearl Street, Boulder, Colorado
Map & Directions

Boulder County Cultural Council 2019 Calendar

January 2019
Jan. 8 (Tues.) 6-8 p.m. BCCC regular monthly meeting
Jan. 17 (Thur.) 4-6:30 p.m. Tier III SCFD Grant Workshop @ Opera Colorado

February 2019
Feb. 2 (Sat.) 9 a.m.–Noon Tier III SCFD Grant Workshop @ D.L Parsons Theatre, Northglenn Rec. Center
Feb. 12 (Tues.) 6-8 p.m. BCCC regular monthly meeting
Feb. 15 (Fri.) Final Grant Report due for Funds received October 2017 – September 2018

March 2019
March 12 (Tues.) 6-8 p.m. BCCC regular monthly meeting
March 5 (Tues.) Multi-County Application Deadline
March 19 (Tues.) Boulder County Application Deadline

April 2019
BCCC Interviews for SCFD Grant Funding Applicants:
April 2 (Tues.) 5:30-8:30 p.m.
April 9 (Tues.) 5:30-8:30 p.m.
April 16 (Tues.) 5:30-8:30 p.m.
April 23 (Tues.) 5:30-8:30 p.m.
April 30 (Tues.) 5:30-8:30 p.m.

May 2019
May 7 (Tues.) 5:30-8:30 p.m.
May 14 (Tues.) 5:30-8:30 p.m. Snow Make-up Day

BCCC/SCFD Grant Allocation Meetings:
May 21 (Tues.) 5-9 p.m.
June 4 (Tues.) 5-9 p.m.

June – July 2019
No regular BCCC meetings are scheduled for June or July.

Recommendations on grant allocations will be presented to the Boulder County Commissioners in July (Date TBD).

August 2019
Aug. 13 (Tues.) 5-8 p.m. BCCC regular monthly meeting
Tentative Retreat Date
Aug. 16 (Fri.) County funding plans, resolutions and check ceremony information due

September 2019
Sept. 10 (Tues.) 6-8 p.m. BCCC regular monthly meeting
Sept. 26 (Thurs.) SCFD Board approves the Tier III funding awards

October 2019
Oct. 8 (Tues.) 6-8 p.m. BCCC regular monthly meeting
Oct. 11 (Fri.) Approved 2019 County Guidelines and calendars due
Oct. 15 (Tues.) Boulder County Cultural Council Check Ceremony Exact Time and Location TBD

November 2019
Nov. 12 (Tues.) 6-8 p.m. BCCC regular monthly meeting

December 2019
Dec. 10 (Tues.) 6-8 p.m. BCCC regular monthly meeting

Council Members (Appointed by the Board of County Commissioners)

  • Aleta Sherman, Chair
  • Kristin Aslan, Co-Chair
  • Maria Astudillo
  • Jackie Hobbins
  • Larry Kaptein
  • Ryan Reeves
  • ml Robles
  • Lisa Smith
  • Fran Zankowski

Boulder County Cultural Council - 2018 General Operating Support Funded Organizations

SCFD Liaison

Kendal Zimmerman, SCFD Liaison

Staff Liaison



Boulder County Cultural Council Bylaws

Grant Application Information

Learn More

SCFD Tier III – Metro Denver Link