Sales & Use Tax

Sales & Use Tax

NOTE: Boulder County taxes are collected by the State of Colorado. All payments of sales tax should be reported and remitted directly to the Colorado Department of Revenue on its form. There is a specific column on the form for County Sales Tax. Forms are available on the State of Colorado web site, or contact the Colorado Sales Tax Office at 303-238-7378 for handouts on rates charged in other Colorado localities.

Sales Tax

Boulder County’s Sales and Use Tax Rate is 0.985% for 2017

The total tax rate for unincorporated areas of Boulder County is 4.985% (cumulative total of individual tax rates shown below):

  • Boulder County 0.985%
  • State of Colorado 2.9%
  • RTD 1.0%
  • Scientific Cultural District 0.1%

Use Tax

Boulder County imposes Use Tax in only two circumstances:

  • Storing, using, or consuming in Boulder County any motor or other vehicle, purchased at retail on which a registration is required.
    • This tax is collected when the vehicle is registered in Boulder County at the County Clerk’s Office.
  • Building & construction materials purchased at retail.
    • This tax is collected when a building permit is obtained.
    • Building permits for areas in unincorporated Boulder County, Jamestown, and Ward are obtained at the county’s Land Use Department at 2045 13th Street in Boulder.
    • By intergovernmental agreements, the tax is also collected by the city building departments in Boulder, Longmont, Louisville, Lafayette, Lyons, Erie, Superior, and Nederland.

Brochure & Exemption

More Tax Information

Contact Us

Sales & Use Tax

303-441-4524 (fax)


Financial Services Division
Courthouse West Wing
1st Floor, 2020 13th Street
Boulder, Colorado 80302
Map & Directions
Hours: 8 a.m. – 4:30 p.m. M-F

Mailing Address

Financial Services Division
Boulder County
PO Box 471
Boulder, CO 80306