Level 2 Fire Restrictions in effect for western areas of Boulder County. No fireworks, fires, open flame, or shooting (see map and flyer).

Many County services are being offered online. Additionally, a variety of resources are available for those impacted by COVID-19.

Motor Vehicle Fees and Taxes

Fees

Need to know how much it will cost to register your vehicle? You can estimate your fees by using this online calculator (note that this estimate will not include taxes). Be sure to enter the original MSRP (usually different from your purchase price). You may need to look this up online.

Please also note that we cannot estimate registration fees over the phone or by email.

Fee Calculator

Registration Fees

The cost of a license plate is based on:

  • Vehicle type
  • Weight of the vehicle
  • License plate type

Colorado FASTER Fees

  • State law began increasing Colorado’s motor vehicle registration fees over a three-year period beginning July, 2009
  • Increased fees are based on a vehicle’s weight and are in addition to all other registration fees

Fees increase by the following amounts depending on a vehicle’s weight:

2,000 pounds or less (i.e. motorcycles, small trailers):

  • $29.00: July 2011 and each year thereafter

2,001-5,000 pounds (i.e. most cars, SUVs, light trucks):

  • $41.00: July 2011 and each year thereafter

5,001-10,000 pounds, (i.e. most large trucks and large SUVs):

  • $51.00: July 2011 and each year thereafter

10,001-16,000 pounds (i.e. most passenger buses):

  • $66.00: July 2011 and Each Year thereafter

More than 16,000 pounds, (i.e. most commercial trucks):

  • $71.00: July 2011 and each year thereafter

All funds generated from the fees will be used to maintain Colorado roads and bridges.

NOTE: Collector vehicles are charged one year of FASTER fees for a 5-year registration. The Colorado FASTER Fee is not collected on rental or horseless carriage vehicles.

Other Fees

  • $7.20 – Title print only
  • $8.20 – Duplicate title
  • $4.00 – Duplicate registration
  • $3.50 – Homemade trailer ID
  • $7.08 – Permit
  • $4.17 – Year Tab Replacement
  • $4.28 – Year and Month Tab Replacement

If a lien is filed on the title, filing fees for the security agreement document will depend on the size and number of pages.

Late Fees

Colorado law requires residents to pay late fees. Late fees are $25 per month but may not exceed $100. Temporary permits are not subject to a one-month grace period (C.R.S. 42-3-112, 42-3-114).

Taxes

Specific Ownership Tax

Specific Ownership Tax is in lieu of a personal property tax. This tax is collected every year at the time of registration renewal (progressively smaller portion of the MSRP is collected each year). The formulas used are set by the Department of Revenue and based on the following:

  • Year
  • Original taxable value (MSRP – Manufacturer’s Suggested Retail Price)
  • Purchase date of the vehicle or registration expiration date

NOTE: Vehicles do not need to be operated in order to be assessed this tax.

Sales / Use Tax

Sales taxes are due when a vehicle is purchased (this includes vehicles that are purchased out of state).

  • If a vehicle is purchased from a dealer, the dealer collects all or a portion of the sales tax that is due. Proof of paid sales tax is required at the time of registration (see instructions for sales tax paid to another state). Any unpaid sales taxes are collected by Boulder County Motor Vehicle.
  • If a vehicle is purchased from a private party, all sales taxes are collected by Boulder County Motor Vehicle.

State, county, city and regional transportation district sales / use taxes are based on the following:

  • Purchase price of the vehicle
  • Residence address of the owner
Colorado Sales Taxes
State of Colorado2.900%
Regional Transportation District1.100%

Regional Transportation District (RTD)

  • 1.100% – total Regional Transportation District (RTD) tax rate
    • 1.00% – RTD sales/use tax
    • 0.10% – Scientific and Cultural Facilities District (CD) sales/use tax
Boulder County Sales Taxes
Open space0.600%
Jail improvements and operation0.050%
Non-profit human service agencies0.050%
County road and transit improvements0.100%
County flood recovery0.185%
Total Boulder County tax rate0.985%
City Sales/Use Taxes
Boulder3.860%
Erie3.500%
Lafayette3.500%
Longmont3.530%
Louisville3.650%
Lyons3.500% Sales Tax or 3.000% Use Tax
Nederland4.000% Sales Tax or 3.000% Use Tax
Superior3.460% Sales Tax or 3.300% Use Tax
Other Taxes
Nederland resident/dealer to Nederland resident4.000%
Niwot resident-to-resident district tax (LID - residents located in Old Town Niwot & Cottonwood Square only)1.000%
Superior resident/dealer to Superior resident 3.460%
Ward resident-to-resident sales tax2.000%

Contact Us

Motor Vehicle Division

Hours: 8 a.m. – 4:30 p.m. M-F
motorvehicle@bouldercounty.org

Phone: 303-413-7710

Fax: 303-413-7725 (Boulder office)
Fax: 303-413-7002 (Lafayette office)
Fax: 303-678-6126 (Longmont office)

Location

Boulder: 1750 33rd Street
Map & Directions

Longmont: 529 Coffman Street
Map & Directions

Lafayette: 1376 Miners Drive
Map & Directions

Mailing Address

1750 33rd Street, Suite 100
Boulder, CO 80301