BoCo Alert System

Level 1 Fire Restrictions in effect for western Boulder County (more). See flyer and map for details.

Purchase from a CO Dealer

Purchase from a CO Dealer

***ATTENTION***
Colorado Motor Vehicle offices are implementing a new computer system statewide.
During June and July, if you visit an office in person you may have a longer wait time.
Options to avoid the wait:
Renew your vehicle online or at our Boulder office self-service kiosk (wait 48-hours after emissions for both) or renew by mail
Need to visit in person? Make an appointment.

Financed Purchase Checklist

The dealer will send paperwork to the Motor Vehicle Division for financed or leased vehicles. A postcard will be sent to the buyer when the paperwork is completed.
Provide the following to register a financed or leased vehicle from a dealer:

Contact the Motor Vehicle Division if the postcard notice is not received:

  • Call 303-413-7710
  • Email

Cash Purchase Checklist

Provide the following to register a vehicle purchased from a Colorado dealer in cash:

Estimated Fees

Registration fees cannot be estimated over the phone or by email. Estimates may be obtained by using the Calculate First Registration Fee calculator.

License Plate Information

Colorado issues license plates for a 12-month period. Renew your registration during the month indicated on the registration or during the following month, known as the one-month grace period.

Late Fees

Colorado law requires residents to pay late fees. Late fees may not exceed $100. Temporary permits are not subject to a one-month grace period (C.R.S. 42-3-112, 42-3-114).

Contact Us

Motor Vehicle Division

303-413-7710
303-413-7725 (Fax)
Email
Hours: 8 a.m. – 4:30 p.m. M-F

Location

Boulder: 1750 33rd Street
Map & Directions

Longmont: 529 Coffman Street
Map & Directions

Lafayette: 1376 Miners Drive
Map & Directions

Mailing Address

1750 33rd Street, Suite 100
Boulder, CO 80301