Temporary permits may issued for up to 60 days from the date of purchase. They are issued to allow time for paperwork to be completed and for the vehicle to have an emissions test, if required:
If you purchased from a Colorado dealership, they will give you a temporary registration. You may also obtain one from us by visiting one of our locations and providing the following:
Temporary Permit Checklist
- Secure and Verifiable ID
- Bill of Sale (in rare circumstances, such as when proper ownership documents are missing, please contact our office for alternative Bill of Sale paperwork)
- Proof of Insurance
- $7.08 plus any applicable sales tax due on the purchase price of the vehicle
Visit a Boulder County Motor Vehicle office to complete the permit transaction. Permits may be obtained at the time of purchase.
The seller’s plates are not transferable to the buyer.
Register the vehicle before the temporary permit expires. Visit a Boulder County Motor Vehicle office if a temporary permit needs to be extended.
Colorado law requires residents to pay late fees. Late fees may not exceed $100. Temporary permits are not subject to a one-month grace period (C.R.S. 42-3-112, 42-3-114).