New Colorado residents are required to register a vehicle within 90 days of establishing residency. Vehicles must be registered in the county that you reside. If vehicles are not registered within 90 days or establishing residency, late fees accumulate at $25 per month up to $100. Once you have gathered all of the items on the checklist below, you will need to visit one of our offices to register your vehicle. Click here to make an appointment.
Definition of Colorado Resident
- Any person who owns or operates any business in the State of Colorado
- Any person who has resided within the State of Colorado continuously for 90 days
- Any person who has obtained gainful employment within the State of Colorado
Provide the following to register a vehicle with an out-of-state title:
- Secure and Verifiable ID
- Out-of-state title or current registration:
- A copy of the title is acceptable if held by a lien holder
- Out-of-state registrations less than six months expired are accepted
- Proof of Insurance
- Verification of Vehicle Identification Number (VIN)
- Proof of Sales Tax paid, if vehicle purchased less than one year ago (dealer invoice, registration receipt, or bill of sale)
- Security agreement if the lender requires you to file the lien
- Certified weight slip, if required
- Proof of emissions test, if required
Registration fees cannot be estimated over the phone or by email. Estimates may be obtained online.
License Plate Information
Colorado issues license plates for a 12-month period. Renew your registration during either the:
- One month prior to expiration month, or
- Month indicated on the registration, or
- Following month, known as the one month grace period
Colorado law requires residents to pay late fees. Late fees may not exceed $100. Temporary permits are not subject to a one-month grace period (C.R.S. 42-3-112, 42-3-114).