Death Certificates

Death Certificates

En Español

Boulder County Public Health issues death certificates for persons who died in Boulder County during the years 1880 to present.

Who Can Apply

Certified copies of death certificates may be issued (with proof of relationship) to:

  • Parents
  • Grandparents
  • Stepparents
  • Siblings
  • Spouses
  • Adult children
  • Stepchildren
  • Grandchildren
  • Legal representatives of any of the above
  • Legal representatives of the deceased
  • Probate researchers
  • Genealogists representing family members with appropriate credentials
  • Others who may demonstrate a direct and tangible interest when information is needed for determination or protection of a personal property right

Boulder County Public Health issues Colorado death certificates in accordance with Colorado state law.

In person orders will be processed within about 15 – 20 minutes.

Requirements

Valid ID (person making the request)

Cash, Check, or Money Order

  • $20.00 for one copy (or for search when no record found)
    • If paid by credit card, there is an additional fee of $.75 plus 2.25% of the total cost
  • $13.00 for each additional copy of the same record when ordered at the same time
    • If paid by credit card, there is an additional fee of $.75 plus 2.25% of the total cost

Boulder County Public Health cannot accept payment by temporary check.

Application Form (available at our office)

All death certificates are processed in our Boulder office. You may request a death certificate in Longmont, but it can take two additional business days to process.

Boulder County Public Health (BCPH) issues Boulder County death certificates in accordance with Colorado state law.

Requirements

Photocopy of a Valid ID (of the person making the request)

Check or Money Order Payable To

Boulder County Public Health Vital Records

  • $20.00 for one copy (or for search when no record found)
    • If paid by credit card, there is an additional fee of $.75 plus 2.25% of the total cost.
  • $13.00 for each additional copy of the same record when ordered at the same time
    • If paid by credit card, there is an additional fee of $.75 plus 2.25% of the total cost.

Boulder County Public Health cannot accept payment by temporary check.

Application Form

Death Certificate Form

Send Form, Copy of Valid ID, & Payment To Nearest Office

Boulder

Boulder County Public Health
Attn: Vital Records
3450 Broadway
Boulder, CO 80304
Phone: 303-441-1100

Longmont

Boulder County Public Health
Attn: Vital Records
529 Coffman St., Suite 200
Longmont, CO 80501
Phone: 303-678-6166

Boulder County Public Health (BCPH) issues Boulder County death certificates in accordance with Colorado state law.

In order to obtain a death certificate online, please visit VitalChek.

Required Information

  • Person’s name as it appears on the death certificate
  • Date and place of death
  • Purpose for the copy
  • Applicant’s relationship to the person
  • Applicant’s signature
  • Payment for the number of copies requested
  • Copy of the requestor’s identification accepted for birth & death certificates

Required Identification

All requests for birth and death records must be accompanied by a photocopy of the requestor’s identification before processing. We require:

  • At least one document from the Primary List

OR

  • At least two documents from the Secondary List

Primary Identification List

All items presented must be currently valid. Expired items and undated items drop to the secondary listing. Documents that do not contain either an issue date or an expiration date will not be considered acceptable.

  • Alien Registration Receipt or Permanent Resident Card (INS I-151 or I-551)
  • Certificate of US Citizenship (N-560-561)
  • City of Denver/Denver County Jail Temporary Inmate ID
  • CO Department of Corrections ID card
  • CO Temporary Driver’s License; MUST be within 30 days period, MUST be issued by Colorado DMV
  • Department of Human Services Youth Corrections ID
  • Employment Authorization Card (I-766)
  • Foreign Passport
  • Government Work ID
  • Job Corps ID card
  • Photo Driver License
  • Photo ID card (DMV)
  • School, University, or College ID card
  • Temporary Resident Card (I-688, I668A, or I-688B)
  • US B1/B2 Visa Card PLUS I-94
  • US Certificate of Naturalization N-550/570
  • US Citizenship ID card (I-197)
  • US Military Identification Card
  • US Passport Book or Card

Secondary Identification List

Expired documents may only be used as a secondary document if they have expired within 6 months of the current date.

  • Acknowledgement of Paternity document
  • US Birth certificate of the applicant
  • Court order for adoption or name change
  • Craft or trade license
  • DD-214
  • Divorce decree
  • Colorado Gaming License
  • Hospital Birth Worksheet
  • Colorado Hunting or Fishing license
  • IRS-TIN Card
  • Marriage License/Certificate
  • Medicare Card
  • Merchant Mariner Card
  • Mexican Voter Registration Card
  • Motor Vehicle Registration or Title
  • Pilot License
  • State, Territorial, or Federal prison ID or Correction card
  • US Selective Service card
  • Social Security Card
  • Weapon or gun permit
  • Work ID, Paycheck Stub, Pay Statement, or W-2

Not Acceptable Under Any Circumstances

  • Birth Certificates issued by Foreign Governments
  • City and County Detention Center ID cards
  • CO Temporary Drivers License Renewal Form
  • Matricula Consular (Consular ID) Cards
  • Medicaid Cards
  • Novelty ID cards
  • Property Tax Receipt
  • Social Services WIC Card/Check
  • Souvenir Birth Certificates
  • Temporary Driver’s License or Temporary State ID cards
  • Tribal ID Cards
  • Undated Documents
  • Veterans Universal Access ID card

Fees

  • $20.00 for one copy (or for search when no record found)
    • If paid by credit card, there is an additional fee of $.75 plus 2.25% of the total cost.
  • $13.00 for each additional copy of the same record when ordered at the same time
    • If paid by credit card, there is an additional fee of $.75 plus 2.25% of the total cost.

Boulder County Public Health cannot accept payment by temporary check.

Payment

Boulder County Public Health can only process credit cards in person. We accept:

  • Visa
  • MasterCard
  • Discover
  • American Express

You can also process online requests through VitalChek. VitalChek is an independent company that we partner with. An additional fee is charged by VitalChek, and all major credit cards are accepted, including American Express®, Discover®, MasterCard® or Visa®.

Filing Deadlines

Death and fetal death certificates must be filed with the local registrar within five days of the death.

Changes on Death Certificates

Changes on death certificates must be made through the Colorado Department of Public Health and Environment, Certification Section, Vital Record Division.

For death record corrections, please call 303-692-2236

Requirements for Disposition of Human Remains or Cremains

There is no requirement that a dead human body or fetus be buried in an established cemetery. Bodies or fetuses may be buried on private land unless local ordinances prohibit it. Cremation is considered “final disposition,” and the State retains no control over disposition of the ashes. Ashes may be disposed of as the next of kin desires except for any restriction by local ordinances. It is important to check all federal, state, or local laws and ordinances first before disposing of remains.

A funeral director is not required; however, the funeral director or person acting as such who first assumes custody of the body is the person primarily responsible for the process of completing the death certificate, obtaining the medical certification, and filing it with the local registrar in the county of death.

Embalming is not required if disposal is within 24 hours; however, a dead human body or fetus kept longer than 24 hours before burial or cremation MUST be embalmed or properly refrigerated.

The requirement is not specific concerning type or brand of container for transport. The intent is to protect public health and ensure that the dead human body is treated with dignity. The dead human body or fetus must be in a “tightly sealed container that will prevent the leakage of fluids or odor.”

Boulder County Public Health (BCPH) issues Boulder County death certificates in accordance with Colorado state law.

Contact Us


Birth Certificates

Boulder: 303-441-1100
Longmont: 303-678-6166
Submit a question


Boulder

3450 Broadway
Map & Directions
Hours: 8 a.m. - 4:30 p.m. M-F

Longmont

515 Coffman Street, Second Floor
Map & Directions
Hours: 8 a.m. - 4:30 p.m. M-F