Level 2 Fire Restrictions in effect for western areas of Boulder County. No fireworks, fires, open flame, or shooting (see map and flyer).

Many County services are being offered online. Additionally, a variety of resources are available for those impacted by COVID-19.

Permit Renewal

Concealed Handgun Permit Renewal

TEMPORARY Process for Concealed Handgun Permit Renewals

Due to the ongoing Sheriff’s Headquarters building closure because of Covid-19, Concealed Handgun Permit renewals will be TEMPORARILY accepted by mail or email. (This is a temporary procedure but may continue for an undefined period of time, even after the building reopens. Please continue to check this website for current information.)

To submit a Concealed Handgun Permit renewal application during Covid-19, first check to make sure your permit is not more than six months expired (State Law does not allow renewal if your permit is more than six months expired). If it is within the renewal window (less than six months expired), follow the instructions below:

By email (using a credit card):

  • Download, print out, fill out, sign and date (no notarization required) the Concealed Handgun Permit Application (you may also submit it in PDF form with an electronic signature)
  • Make a copy of your Colorado Driver’s License and Concealed Handgun Permit
  • Scan and email the above items to: jbiekert@bouldercounty.org
  • You will receive an email within a week with a link to process the renewal fee by credit card.

After applicable background checks are made, and if you continue to qualify for a Concealed Handgun Permit, your new permit will be mailed to you, no sooner than 4-6 weeks.

By postal mail (paying with a check):

  • Download, print out, fill out, sign and date (no notarization required) the Concealed Handgun Permit Application.
  • Make a copy of your Colorado Driver’s License and Concealed Handgun Permit
  • Prepare a check for $63.00 ($78.00 for late renewals that are within the six-month renewal window), made payable to:
    Boulder County Sheriff’s Office or BCSO
  • Enclose the above items in an envelope (with postage) and address it to:
    Boulder County Sheriff’s Office
    Attn: CCW
    5600 Flatiron Parkway
    Boulder, CO 80301

After applicable background checks are made, and if you continue to qualify for a Concealed Handgun Permit, your new permit will be mailed to you, no sooner than 4-6 weeks.

New Information Regarding Renewals

Per recently passed Colorado legislation, you can only renew your Concealed Handgun Permit with the Boulder County Sheriff’s Office if you are a resident of Boulder County (or own residential or business property).

If you are not a resident of Boulder County, you must go to the Sheriff’s agency in the county where you reside (even if your permit was previously issued by the BCSO, you must go to the new county. Check that agency’s website for information on how to apply).

The Renewal application process requires the following:

To RENEW your Concealed Handgun Permit, you must apply with the sheriff’s agency where you live. You can apply as early as 120 days (four months) before the expiration of your permit up to the actual date of expiration. (If you renew AFTER the expiration of your permit, you will be charged a $15.00 late fee.) After six months expired, you must re-apply as a new applicant, and all the appropriate fees and requirements of a new permit will apply.

It is recommended to apply at least six to eight weeks in advance of the expiration date.

NO ADDITIONAL TRAINING IS REQUIRED FOR A RENEWAL.

To renew your permit with the Boulder County Sheriff’s Office, you MUST live in Boulder County (or own or lease business property in Boulder County).

Upon renewal, please complete the following steps:

  1. Fill out an Application for renewal (this is the same form as the original application, but check the box that says renewal, and write in your permit number). NO PROOF OF TRAINING IS REQUIRED. (We already have a training certificate from your original application.) You must sign the completed Renewal Application in front of an authorized Sheriff’s representative, so don’t sign the Renewal Application until you are at the Sheriff’s Office.
  2. Write a personal check, cashier’s check or money order for $63.00 to the Boulder County Sheriff’s Office ($78.00 for LATE renewals).
  3. Submit the above items IN PERSON to the Boulder County Sheriff’s Office Headquarters, 5600 Flatiron Parkway in Boulder. (Please bring your Colorado Driver’s License or ID card with you.) NO APPOINTMENT IS NECESSARY. The Records counter is open MONDAY-FRIDAY, 8:00-5:00.
  4. After the background investigation is complete, your permit will be mailed to you within 6-8 weeks. (We will use the original picture on your permit. A new one will not be taken unless there is a distinct change in your appearance and/or if you request one be taken WHEN YOU SUBMIT your renewal application.)

For questions regarding the Concealed Handgun Permit renewal process, please email: jbiekert@bouldercounty.org or 303-441-3994.

If you fail to renew during the prescribed renewal time, you will be assessed a $15.00 late charge in addition to the above-mentioned renewal fees. If you do not renew your permit within six months of expiration, the permit shall be deemed permanently expired, and to obtain a permit, you will need to re-apply by submitting a new application and all the appropriate fees.

Contact Us

Concealed Handgun Permit

Main: 303-441-3994
Fax: 720-564-2674

email

Location

Sheriff's Headquarters
5600 Flatiron Parkway
Boulder, CO 80301
Map & Directions

Website

www.bouldersheriff.org
H.Q. Lobby Hours:
08:00 a.m.-5:00 p.m. M-F