Land Conservation Awards
Barrett Property Sunset

Land Conservation Awards

Boulder County honors individuals or groups with its Land Conservation Awards for outstanding contributions made to the conservation, preservation and protection of land-based environmental resources.

Now Accepting Nominations for 2018 Land Conservation Awards

Anyone may nominate individuals, families or organizations that have made outstanding contributions in Boulder County in Land Conservation, Environmental Stewardship, or Historic Preservation.

Special consideration will be given to land conservation or historic preservation activities that particularly affect unincorporated Boulder County and for activities that demonstrate ongoing effort. One-time efforts resulting in lasting benefits to the county’s environmental landscape will also be favored for selection. Other award selection criteria include conservation activities that are a model for others or that increase public awareness of land conservation.

People may not nominate themselves nor are they permitted to nominate organizations of which they are an officer or director. Official projects of federal, state, county, special district and municipal government agencies are not eligible to be nominated. The project or transfer of land must have been completed within the last five years.

Nominations are due January 31, 2018.

Submit A Nomination

2017 Land Conservation Award Winners

Land Conservation Award: Ron Stewart for outstanding achievement in land preservation and stewardship through 40 years of service dedicated to Boulder County’s open space program.

Environmental Stewardship Award: Carron Meaney for outstanding achievement exemplified by substantial contributions as a professional ecologist and mammologist toward the conservation of the federally protected Preble’s meadow jumping mouse.

Heritage Award for Excellence in Historic Preservation: Michelle Wieber & Eric Stevens for their commitment to historic preservation through the purchase and restoration of the historic Wood House in Salina.

Outstanding Volunteer Award: Melinda & Lauren Courtman, a mother/daughter team, for donating time as Native Seed Garden Stewards and Seed Collection Crew Leaders.

Outstanding Volunteer Award: Cynthia Baker for contributions as a volunteer Master Food Safety Adviser for the Boulder County Extension Food Preservation Program.

The Partnership Award: Singletrack Mountain Bike Adventures for outstanding achievement as an Alpine Partner in the Partnership Initiative Program. Since 2010, SMBA has organized 17 volunteer projects contributing over 1,870 volunteer hours.

Land Conservation Award Winners

Past Winners


  • The Toll Family and The Conservation Fund, Land Conservation Award
  • Jim McKee, Environmental Stewardship Award
  • Jules Van Thuyne, Heritage Award for Excellence in Historic Preservation
  • Blair Smallwood, Outstanding Volunteer Award
  • Linda Garcia, Outstanding Volunteer Award
  • CU – Program for Writing and Rhetoric, Partnership Award


  • PLAN-Boulder County, Land Conservation Award
  • Sue Cass, Environmental Stewardship
  • Rob and Liz Alexander, Heritage Award for Excellence in Historic Preservation
  • Todd Van Dyke, Outstanding Volunteer
  • Annie Conry, Outstanding Volunteer
  • Sherrie Rasmussen, Outstanding Volunteer
  • Redstone Cyclery, Partnership Award


  • Rich Koopmann, Land Conservation Award
  • Dave Hallock, Environmental Stewardship
  • Lexie Spencer Armitage, Heritage Award for Excellence in Historic Preservation
  • Art Roberts, Outstanding Volunteer
  • DeAnna Cassidy, Outstanding Volunteer
  • Level 3 Communications, Partnership Award


  • Keith Bateman, Land Conservation Award
  • George and Marti Oetzel, Environmental Stewardship
  • The Little Church in the Pines Board, Heritage Award for Excellence in Historic Preservation
  • Megan Bowes, Outstanding Volunteer
  • Joyce Costello, Outstanding Volunteer
  • Geocaching Colorado, Partnership Award


  • Jan Burns, Land Conservation Award
  • Steve Jones, Environmental Stewardship
  • Skip and Marva DeFalco, Heritage Award for Excellence in Historic Preservation
  • David Davia, Outstanding Volunteer
  • Kathie Kennedy, Outstanding Volunteer
  • Barb Kirchner, Outstanding Volunteer
  • Alan Carpenter, Outstanding Volunteer
  • Amgen, Partnership Award


  • Ruth Almquist, Land Conservation Award
  • Wildland Restoration Volunteers, Environmental Stewardship
  • Scott Bruntjen & Carol Rinderknecht, Heritage Award for Excellence in Historic Preservation
  • Jenn Archuleta, Outstanding Volunteer
  • Clare Shier, Outstanding Volunteer
  • Smartwool, Partnership Award


  • Luke Stromquist, Land Conservation Award
  • Boulder Flycasters, Environmental Stewardship Award
  • Left Hand Grange, Heritage Award for Excellence in Historic Preservation
  • Katherine Young, Outstanding Volunteer
  • Dianne Marshall, Outstanding Volunteer
  • Boulder Mountainbike Alliance, Partnership Award


  • Craig Sterkel, Land Conservation Award
  • Ben Turner, Environmental Stewardship Award
  • June Peterson Howard, Heritage Award for Excellence in Historic Preservation
  • Tina Pohlmann, Outstanding Volunteer
  • Diane Karash, Outstanding Volunteer
  • Boulder Mountainbike Alliance, Partnership Award


  • Van Thuyne Family, Land Conservation Award
  • Sigrid Ueblacker, Environmental Stewardship Award
  • Alan Villavicencio, Heritage Award for Excellence in Historic Preservation
  • Ann Cooper, Outstanding Volunteer
  • Clarence Kneebone, Outstanding Volunteer


  • Robinson/Moore Family, Land Conservation Award
  • Dr. Oakleigh Thorne, II, Environmental Stewardship Award
  • Merrie and Jeff Wycoff, Heritage Award for Excellence in Historic Preservation
  • Anne Q. Dyni, Outstanding Volunteer
  • Sharon Bokan, Outstanding Volunteer


  • LaVerne Krueger, Land Conservation Award
  • Cal-Wood Education Center, Environmental Stewardship Award
  • John Mayhoffer, Heritage Award for Excellence in Historic Preservation
  • Jim McKee, Outstanding Volunteer
  • Christina Kertesz, Outstanding Volunteer

2003 Land Conservation Award

  • Sandy Cruz

2002 Land Conservation Award

  • Jim Crain

2000 Land Conservation Award

  • Marcel Arsenault

1999 Land Conservation Award

  • Audrey and Jim Benedict
  • Anne and Henry Goodnow

1998 Land Conservation Award

  • Katharine Welch

1997 Land Conservation Award

  • Lillian C. Trevarton
  • Boulder County Nature Association

1996 Land Conservation Award

  • Dorothy Ellen Trevarton
  • James L. Henry

1995 Land Conservation Award

  • Martin and Natali Steinberg

1994 Land Conservation Award

  • Ruth Wright

1993 Land Conservation Award

  • Stuart S. Anderson
  • Lee S. and Virginial H. Evans
  • LeRoy Schlagel

1992 Land Conservation Award

  • Martha (Ricky) Weiser
  • Clancy C. Waneka
  • Arthur R. Stromquist (awarded posthumously)
  • Alva M. Dodd, Sr. (awarded posthumously)

Contact Us

Parks & Open Space

Vivienne Jannatpour